Grief

12 Mar

Grief is what I call what you feel when your daughter dates a never-do-well and threatens you with elopement when you refuse to consent to the relationship. Believe me, here in Africa, a marriage without parental consent is as fatal as leaping off a mountain without having the faintest idea what lies at the bottom.

Grief is what I feel right now because I have just experienced that. I feel I have failed as a mother, because if my daughter could say that to me, I mean, it shows she has no regard for me or my point of view, right? If she could stick like glue to a guy she just met and turn her back on me who gave her everything she has, then definitely HE has done a far better job than I did, don’t you think so?

I wonder how I would overcome this grief. It is like a stone weighing heavily in my heart and which I have to rip off so it does not take me under. And as I try to overcome this grief I have to say adieu for to me my daughter has just died.

2 Responses to “Grief”

  1. Molly B and Me March 12, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    Hang in there and trust that the daughter you raised will see the light. Love never dies.

  2. louisa June 13, 2015 at 7:57 am #

    dont be sad mum. im still here for u and i wont be eloping…anytime soon

Leave a Reply

