Sometimes I Wonder…

23 Jun

Sometimes it feels so lousy and frustrating being Nigerian. Imagine clicking on a film on YouTube and being told its contents has been blocked for your country because of copyright laws.

Don’t get me wrong, my problem is not with YouTube, it is with the country to which I belong, a country which ranks, no I don’t want to state that it is too embarrassing, in the list of corrupt nations. Copyright laws exist here alright, but do they go implemented? THAT is the point. And now the generalisation is making those of us who know what to and what not to do with copyright properties look like criminals.

Did I say criminals? Of course I said criminals! Anyone who has no respect for or steals others’ properties, intellectual or otherwise is a criminal, pure and simple.

I believe in calling a spade a spade, but I don’t believe in generalisation. I believe in judging each individual on their merits and not with relation to others of the same tribe or race or country. But then since the world thrives in generalisation, well, I have no choice but to look for alternatives that my “beloved country” can access.

Leave a Reply

