Thank God it’s Friday?

27 Sep

Everyone I know thanks God it is Friday, just because Friday is a prelude to the weekend and fun lovers just love weekends. Well I love weekends too, but no, I don’t like Fridays.

If you live in a city like Lagos you would definitely hate Fridays. It is as if everyone has a place to go once it’s Friday evening and therefore all the routes that lead “anywhere” is blocked. You could be caught in traffic for hours on end.

Now you may be asking, “Since you know Friday traffic is that bad, why are you out yourself?” Good question, and I would not hesitate to answer it.

Friday evenings happen to be when I feature on the TV programme Diction Avenue on Galaxy TV.  I just have to be there and “smile pretty, pretty,” through the programme knowing full well that once I step out of that door, I may not get home in the next three hours, yes, three hours.

Today’s traffic was so bad I almost cried, and to top it all, my kids were with me. I was so exasperated I even yelled a couple of times! Oh well, I was in a chicken mood that should be expected…right?

Well when I got home my right foot was swollen fro pressing the brake and acceleration pedals. If I had my way I’ll get myself a driver…’if’ being the operative word.

Anyway, I am home now thank God, and I have had  a soothing bath. Maybe the weekend would turn out enjoyable after all, I just hope so.

Here’s to hoping!

Leave a Reply

